In May of 1905, the owners of the Saegertown Inn sponsored a dinner for about 40 local citizens to explore the possibility of a “Country Club” with golf and polo facilities. The suggestion was enthusiastically received, prospective sites were studied and a committee appointed to develop the idea. Strong support developed and on Friday, June 16, 1905, an organizational meeting was held in the Chamber of Commerce rooms over the Academy Theatre on Chestnut Street in downtown Meadville.
A large enthusiastic audience heard a report and accepted plans to formally organize The Country Club with an initiation fee of $25 and annual dues of $10. There were 96 charter members. Articles of Incorporation were drafted and presented to the Crawford County Court and approved on July 17, 1905, by Judge Frank J. Thomas.
A farm of 103 acres was purchased about a month later for $5,000 in Woodcock Township. The farmhouse was remodeled into a clubhouse and the pasture land developed into a nine hole golf course. A few experimental rounds of golf were probably played in 1905 but the official “grand opening” of the clubhouse and golf links was held on June 15, 1906, attended by 400 members and guests.
The original old farmhouse was enlarged over the years, but on April 24, 1934 a fire completely destroyed the clubhouse. A new clubhouse and pro shop were quickly built and reopened in October of 1934. The Club was enlarged in 1948 and a swimming pool was added. Additional acreage was acquired, and an additional nine holes of golf were added. In the mid 1970’s, an expansion project enlarged The Club’s size, and altered the interior.
Over the years The Club has continued to grow in facility and membership. The Country Club is one of the finest small country clubs in the eastern part of the United States, and we are proud of our heritage and grateful to our past and present leaders who have strived to accomplish this.